FIRST IEEE SEMINAR ON FUTURE DIRECTIONS IN INFORMATION THEORY AND COMMUNICATIONS

August 16-21, 2015 Protea Hotel Kruger Gate Skukuza, South Africa

Call for Participation

It is our pleasure to announce the First IEEE Seminar on Future Directions in Information Theory and Communications to be held at the Kruger National Park from 16 to 21 August, 2015.

Internationally acclaimed researchers in Information Theory and Communications will be invited to present seminars.. The seminars and discussions will be a forum for bringing together several leading researchers in Information Theory in a relaxed setting to explore future directions.

This event will be held in parallel with the 2nd African Winter School on Information Theory and Communications (see next page for details). The goal of holding the two events in parallel is to stimulate interest in Information Theory amongst young academics and researchers as well as to increase co-operation and knowledge sharing between leading international researchers, African students and universities.

All international researchers in Information Theory as well as study leaders, doctoral students and young staff members from Africa, are encouraged to participate in order to establish more high-level co-operation between African universities and international researchers.

Speakers

Invited Speakers confirmed to date include:

- Jeff Andrews, University of Texas at Austin, USA and Chair Future Directions Committee, IEEE Information Theory Society
- Andrew Jiang, Texas A&M University, USA
- Emanuele Viterbo, Monash University, Australia
- Tadashi Wadayama, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
- Hirosuko Yamamoto, The University of Tokyo, Japan
- Frans Willems, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair: Hendrik C. Ferreira (University of Johannesburg)

TPC Co-chairs: A. J. Han Vinck (University of Duisburg-Essen)

Hiroyoshi Morita (The University of Electro-

Communications)

International Advisory Panel: Jeffrey Andrews (University of Texas)

Daniel Costello (University of Notre Dame)

Kees Immink (Turing Machines)

Gerhard Kramer (Technical University of Munich)

Local Arrangements: Wendy Smith (University of Johannesburg)

Allan Emleh (University of Johannesburg) Lucia Pelser (University of Johannesburg)



Sponsored by the University of Johannesburg and the IEEE South Africa Information Theory Section



Call for Participation

It is with great pleasure that we announce the 2nd African Winter School on Information Theory and Communications to be held at the Kruger National Park from 16 to 21 August, 2015. The goal of the winter school is to increase co-operation and knowledge sharing between African students and universities. Doctoral students and young staff members, from Africa and other continents, are encouraged to present and discuss their ongoing research with international experts. Students are welcome to make presentations irrespective of the phase of their research. All submitted abstracts will be scrutinized by the technical chairs for suitability. The number of topics will not be limited and we hope to have a wide range of presentations in the Information Theory and Communications field. Study leaders are also encouraged to attend in order to establish more high-level co-operation between African and other universities.

This event will be held in parallel with the First IEEE Seminar on Future Directions in Information Theory and Communications (see previous page for details).

Speakers

- Jian Song, Tsinghua University, P. R. China
- Yuan Luo, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, P. R. China
- Jos H. Weber, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- Ivan Fair, University of Alberta, Canada
- Bella Bose, Oregon State University, USA
- Luca Tallini, University of Teramo, Italy

Important Dates

If you would like to participate in this event, please send a short one-page paper (using the IEEE template) of your work in progress to telecoms@uj.ac.za by 18 May 2015. Notification of acceptance will be on or before 22 May 2015.

Organizing Committee

Conference Co-Chairs: Theo Swart (University of Johannesburg)

Ling Cheng (University of the Witwatersrand)

TPC Co-Chairs: Jos H. Weber (Delft University of Technology)

Ulrich Speidel (The University of Auckland)

Ivan Fair (University of Alberta)

Local Arrangements: Wendy Smith (University of Johannesburg)

Allan Emleh (University of Johannesburg) Lucia Pelser (University of Johannesburg)



Sponsored by the University of Johannesburg and the IEEE South Africa Information Theory Section