Ethics Applications

If you are planning to undertake research in the Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment you will need to ensure that you have read the latest revision of the EBE EiR Handbook

EBE staff, students, as well as external persons or parties linked to EBE - planning to undertake research, must apply for ethics clearance.

Ethics clearance applications need to be submitted via UCT’s electronic research administration (eRA) system.

-        eRA login

-        For guidance and eRA system-related support, see here or log a call

Guides for EBE Ethics Management

Research involving UCT students and staff

For research involving UCT students as research subjects, you will need additional approval from the Executive Director, Department of Student Affairs, Mr Pura Mgolombane

For research involving UCT staff as research subjects, you will need to contact the office of the Executive Director, Human Resources, Miss Zoe Cosmopoulos

Four types of research are considered:

  1. Research that does not involve humans or animals.
  2. Research that involves interviews of human participants.
  3. Research that involves the performance of clinical tests on humans. (Please consult the Health Sciences Research Ethics Committee)
  4. Research that uses or involves animals. (Please consult the Health Sciences Animal Ethics Committee)

Departmental Contacts:

Civil Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Architecture, Geomatics and Planning

Construction Economics and Management

Ethics in Research Committee - Suraya Azam